Teacher of the Year

Teacher of the Year

Middle school civics teacher has been named Seminole County Public Schools' Teacher of the Year for the 2016 competition.

Brian Furgione has taught at Milwee Middle School in Longwood for four years. He shows initiative by developing blended learning experiences for his students and using unique methods to incorporate technology in the classroom, district officials said. He has served as his school's New Teacher Mentor for the past three years and mentors at-risk boys as a facilitator of the Milwee Basketball Association. He is also the boys and girls cross-country coach and a member of the district's Digital Learning Team.

Furgione was honored Thursday night during an awards ceremony where he was given a one-year lease of a 2015 Buick courtesy of Carl Black Chevrolet/Buick/GMC. He also won a Teacher of the Year ring from Herff Jones, an annual pass to Walt Disney World, the Disney trophy known as a "Mousecar," and $1,000 from the Foundation for Seminole County Public Schools.

He will represent the county in the state Teacher of the Year competition.

The district has about 4,570 teachers, including 1,020 middle school teachers.

The other two finalists for Seminole Teacher of the Year were Tenesha Wells-Eason, a second grade teacher at Carillon Elementary, and Robin Grenz, an AP History and honors history teacher at Hagerty High. The other semifinalists were Olga Wood of Bentley Elementary, JoEllen Rosenberg of Heathrow Elementary, William Tillman of Pine Crest Elementary, Nancy Spears of Rainbow Elementary, Katherine D. Hall of Stenstrom Elementary, George McManus of Lawton Chiles Middle, Elizabeth Singer of Rock Lake Middle, Dawn Trenholm of South Seminole Middle, Derek Jensen of Crooms Academy and Dawn Wilkerson of Winter Springs High.